More Mouse

Posted on June 4, 2013

0


“You tell me what you want and I’ll tell you what you get” 

– From Ocean Breathes Salty by Modest Mouse

Flipping through Quimby Mouse one more time before I slide him back into his hiding place beneath the world atlas, I realized I never filled in the printed nameplate on the inside cover.

quimby-nameplate

The text is pretty funny as well as thick with irony considering how I came to own my copy of Quimby. Plus, I love nameplates. I have carefully applied lovely nameplates in many of my books. I love them almost as much as I do bookmarks – but I digress. (DK always said my stories piled up on top of each other.)

I filled in this line: “And whose heart was broken by ___________________” after I scanned the plate, because, obviously, DK isn’t his real name. I suppose I could have printed DEKE in pencil, scanned and then erased it, but that’s a lot of work for not much return. I’m a lazy artist.

Chris Ware, though, is clearly not a lazy artist. In fact, he seems pretty damn prolific. One day I’m going to go to one of his book signings and get him to fulfill this printed promise:

quimby-nameplate2

I never noticed before, but mouses are a bit of a recurring theme with DK. Whenever I hear Modest Mouse I always think of Deke. I don’t really know why. And of course, there is this:

page 4

Which comes from this. I also don’t know why I put a sweet little mouse on his sleeping tee. Maybe to keep him company in the stillness of the night. Maybe I should have done that for me, instead. 

related posts: Quimby Mouse     From above    

For the playlist: Ocean Breathes Salty by Modest Mouse

